Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2007, 07:14 PM   #11
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: 3d modeling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
Yeah, I'm a fan of 3D modelling/rendering.
I use 3D Studio Max 9, with the Vray renderer, as I believe that gives the best quality of visuals in the quickest time.
I haven't had much practise on Mental Ray though, but who knows.

I wouldn't say I'm that great at modelling... in fact, I'm probably just average, even though I've been doing it for around 6 years now. My rendering skills though are better...

Work tends to not get finished though, because I'm too much of a perfectionist. Here are a few examples any how:

DDR machine WIP:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthre...?f=43&t=484252

Xbox 360 controller WIP:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=418829

Zen Vision M (completed)
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...ncomplete2.jpg

Air Freshner I made for a speed modelling competition on 3D Total:
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...4Airrender.jpg

Athlon Freezer cooler (unfinished)
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...lonCooler3.jpg

A test I did to try and improve my modelling skills (Its a hard drive cooler...)
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...r640x480-2.jpg

I hope to see some of your works soon
that is AMAZING did you really complete that air freshener in only an 1 hour?!?!

also that cooler fan is way off FYI i could remove my fan and show you how the latest model looks without the HSF looks
__________________

Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 07:43 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3d modeling

Yeah, that was the time limit The modelling work at least. The materials/rendering took a lot longer than that to perfect, but its my own design, and I was really happy, since I don't tend to design much.

As for the cooler fan, I stopped modelling it because I wanted it to be a realistic model, and I couldn't find enough pics without taking apart mine, to model it properly. For instance, its not perfectly round, yet my model is, etc, etc.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:30 PM   #13
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: 3d modeling

you should take apart your pc and model the whole thing . i see you have the the HS down just take off the fan and you can get a great picture from that

that would be SOO COOL! too bad i doubt you will
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:38 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: 3d modeling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudster816 View Post
you should take apart your pc and model the whole thing . i see you have the the HS down just take off the fan and you can get a great picture from that

that would be SOO COOL! too bad i doubt you will
Don't forget the thermal paste! I would love to see a modeled 8800...
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:40 PM   #15
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: 3d modeling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
Don't forget the thermal paste! I would love to see a modeled 8800...
that shall be my project lol. i am only just learning tho so it could take me time
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:47 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: 3d modeling

Oh man if you do it, you will get +3 rep from me. I mean the 8800. The tp I can do myself.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:56 PM   #17
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: 3d modeling

done
nah onlyjoking . that would have ben quick tho
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:29 PM   #18
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: 3d modeling

how the heck do you make a cylinder in google sketch up?!?!?! its driving me MAD!!!
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:33 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: 3d modeling

You mean the thing I did?
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:40 PM   #20
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: 3d modeling

looks like you did that in paint, but no i dont mean what you did...
__________________

Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0