Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 01:43 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default 3d modeling

Just wondering if anyone else in here is into 3d modeling?
I did some stuff a while back, but then I guess I just didn't have the time and I kinda forgot about the whole thing. But now I started doing stuff again. Still doing all the beginners stuff, just some simple objects and once in a while just do one of those guides to learn new stuff.

So anyone else doing anything like this? Also post some pictures of your works if you want to.
__________________

__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 02:18 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: 3d modeling

Kage is pretty big on that type of stuff isn't he??

I took a drawing and design tech class this year at school, it was pretty interesting. We used Autodesk Inventor...
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 03:45 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: 3d modeling

hmm, I don't have any experience with Autodesk Invertor but I use 3ds max which is from autodesk too.
__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 01:42 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3d modeling

Yeah, I'm a fan of 3D modelling/rendering.
I use 3D Studio Max 9, with the Vray renderer, as I believe that gives the best quality of visuals in the quickest time.
I haven't had much practise on Mental Ray though, but who knows.

I wouldn't say I'm that great at modelling... in fact, I'm probably just average, even though I've been doing it for around 6 years now. My rendering skills though are better...

Work tends to not get finished though, because I'm too much of a perfectionist. Here are a few examples any how:

DDR machine WIP:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthre...?f=43&t=484252

Xbox 360 controller WIP:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=418829

Zen Vision M (completed)
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...ncomplete2.jpg

Air Freshner I made for a speed modelling competition on 3D Total:
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...4Airrender.jpg

Athlon Freezer cooler (unfinished)
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...lonCooler3.jpg

A test I did to try and improve my modelling skills (Its a hard drive cooler...)
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b9...r640x480-2.jpg

I hope to see some of your works soon
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:14 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: 3d modeling

those are excellent. I love the zen vision and Athlon Freezer cooler, they are so nice.

And I use 3ds max 9 too, I find it to be quite user friendly compared to something like blender.

And you probably won't see a ready work from me in ages, right now I don't even put textures on them, I just make the model. And I rarely even complete the model since I'm just practising, I usually don't even save the thing I'm working on.
__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:16 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3d modeling

Thanks

I almost never finish something I'm working on either, but you must always save.

Honestly, save everything you do.

If its important, always save every time you do something major as a seperate file also.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:57 AM   #7
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: 3d modeling

How easy is 3d studio to use . cos i shown mammikoura some of my work on pro desktop over at cv and well i learnt how to use that pretty much by myself with few little pointers from teachers
Also i have loads of free time cos i have no school or college for about 6 weeks now so i relay wanna learn something new rather than sit on my arse all day doing jack .

Also Kage how long does it take you to render that stuff presuming your computer in your sig cos i have a pentium 4 2.8ghz with 512mb ram -making it a gig soon .And i realy dont wanna wait days for rendering
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:04 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3d modeling

3D Studio Max is rather easy once you get the hang of it.

If you started with Blender, etc, I believe it'd be harder to get used to the interface, as that works more like Maya (I think?)
Its hard to say though... I guess it depends on how willing you are to run through tutorials to get used to the structure.

As for rendering, that depends on the render engine you use, and what types of effects you add.

All the renders up there, I used Global Illumination (light bounces around creating a very believable effect). This can take a while to render.

I also used blurred reflections and refractions (again, this can take longer than GI...)

Then theres motion/distance blur, and this can take longer still.

But, the render engine I use is Vray 1.5, and that is actually rather fast at producing these effects compared with the standard renderers.

That Zen Vision M render for instance with all the effects I had on, took around 1 hour.
It all depends on the quality you want to end up with. The same scene renderered in lower quality just for testing could take 1 minute or less.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:05 PM   #9
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: 3d modeling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
3D Studio Max is rather easy once you get the hang of it.

If you started with Blender, etc, I believe it'd be harder to get used to the interface, as that works more like Maya (I think?)
Its hard to say though... I guess it depends on how willing you are to run through tutorials to get used to the structure.

As for rendering, that depends on the render engine you use, and what types of effects you add.

All the renders up there, I used Global Illumination (light bounces around creating a very believable effect). This can take a while to render.

I also used blurred reflections and refractions (again, this can take longer than GI...)

Then theres motion/distance blur, and this can take longer still.

But, the render engine I use is Vray 1.5, and that is actually rather fast at producing these effects compared with the standard renderers.

That Zen Vision M render for instance with all the effects I had on, took around 1 hour.
It all depends on the quality you want to end up with. The same scene renderered in lower quality just for testing could take 1 minute or less.
Ok i got lost when you said blender lol .well ok erm yeah . i am currently aquiring a copy of 3d studio max so yeah i will open it up and see where i get from there
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 07:05 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: 3d modeling

oh, wow, kage, i took a look at some of your works, they are awesome.

im a big fan of 3-D design myself, but I really cant get into it very well. i like to use 3Ds max, but there is no way im going to buy it even though i love it so much. and my favorite free program to use, gMax, doesn't have Vista support yet.

I opened a thread in the gallery section about 3D design. I encourage you guys to post some stuff in there. I have already done so with a little Bot that i made in Google SketchUp.
__________________

__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0