Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2010, 10:41 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default 360 Hard drive

So i bought a game and now my tiny little 20gb hard drive is just about full. Now i know people have put 120gb laptop hard drives in there and have flashed them yadayada. Well Western Digital doesn't make the 120's anymore i guess cause they're not on newegg and not on wd's website either so what are the options now?
__________________

__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:04 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
culexor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Send a message via AIM to culexor
Default Re: 360 Hard drive

Here's a list of hard drives that have been confirmed to work with the 360.
http://xboxdrives.x-pec.com/?p=list
__________________

__________________
Desktop: Phenom II B50 3.1Ghz, 4GB DDR2 800, Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P, 2x 1TB RAID0, GTX 460 1GB, OCZ 600W, ABS Black Pearl

Laptop: i5 430M 2.26Ghz, 4GB DDR3 1066, 500GB WD Blue, Mobility Radeon HD 5650 1GB (discrete)
culexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:11 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: 360 Hard drive

Wait i got confuzzled. Would this one work?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136373

Cause i was thinking about putting a faster one in there like this one

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136278

but could that work?
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:21 PM   #4
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: 360 Hard drive

I can't see why the 7200RPM wouldn't work. I have one in my PS3. Just keep in mind that the faster the drive, the quicker it'll heat up.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:40 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: 360 Hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
I can't see why the 7200RPM wouldn't work. I have one in my PS3. Just keep in mind that the faster the drive, the quicker it'll heat up.
Because it's Microsoft and they want you to buy there HD's. I'd personally be a little careful because they have banned over 1 million people for modded consoles now. I'm not sure if that happens with a non Microsoft HD too through. But I'd assume that they can tell what drive you put in there with built in software.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 11:50 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: 360 Hard drive

Speaking of 360's...Mine is due for a red ring any day now. I might go liquid on it before it does.

[/OFFTOPIC]

I wonder if a SSD would work. Would be pretty neat.

Just make sure when replace the drive that the wires are in correct or it will do a checksum and ban you I say this assuming you are disassembling the console and not just the HDD casing.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 02:24 AM   #7
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: 360 Hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by ߧ∩†H♠HŽ€ View Post
Because it's Microsoft and they want you to buy there HD's. I'd personally be a little careful because they have banned over 1 million people for modded consoles now. I'm not sure if that happens with a non Microsoft HD too through. But I'd assume that they can tell what drive you put in there with built in software.
They don't ban people with modded HDDs, or at least I haven't heard of any yet. So far, they only ban people with modded consoles (being able to pirate games), this is done by modding the 360's optical drive firmware (DVD reader).
Modding the HDD is simply a cheap mans way of getting a bigger HDD for less. This is done by just voiding your warranty on your HDD as you will be taking it apart and replacing it with an flashed HDD (Sizes are 20, 60, 120, and 250? (not sure if they made the 250 yet)). It's kind of like replacing an HDD on an external casing.

My 360 has an modded HDD, it was originally WD 160GB external, and now it's an 120GB (I think now its an Seagate 120GB?) for the 360 and I haven't gotten any warnings or anything. However, they did make an update that makes third party storage devices (ie memcards) obsolete, but that's because that allows you to transfer saves. So the HDD mod is still safe.

I don't know which HDD are fully compatible, but people just told me to use an WD with BEV on the name. I don't think it matters if it were 5400RPM or 7200RPM. I would assume it would provide little to no performance.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 09:51 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: 360 Hard drive

No i wouldn't be opening the actual console just the HDD. I always thought about putting a SSD in there i think that would be badass, it would boot within seconds xD
__________________

__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0