Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2007, 07:30 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

Its a shame its happened now, because I wanted to test it out on the new TV :|

The weird thing is, is how it happened. It was switched to 720p, and I believe 1080p on the settings, and the screen went black for 15 seconds or so, and reset to 720p. 1080i worked.
This was when running on the component cable, so then we turned off for some reason, and put it back and it didn't work.

I'm sort of wondering wheather it has anything to do with the video signal not being compatable, like its trying to set to 1080p or something within the console. I have tried switching the connector to TVA mode though, and this hasn't worked.

I would expect that to be 4 lights though, which happens if you don't have an AV connection plugged in at all, and not 3
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:40 AM   #12
BSOD
 
db4rt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to db4rt Send a message via MSN to db4rt
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

3 lights means hardware overheat issue.
I know how to fix it temporarily. If you want to know, PM me. basically what has happened is the processor has like melted out of the socket so your xbox wont start.
__________________

db4rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:51 AM   #13
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

No, 3 red lights means hardware failure. There are a set of codes that determine what it is.
Could be melted though, yeah, as fans have never been brilliant.

No, i'm not putting a cloth over it or something
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:16 AM   #14
Golden Master
 
mark thorpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,366
Send a message via MSN to mark thorpe Send a message via Yahoo to mark thorpe
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

game are idiots.. dont believe what they said.. make a coplaint to microsoft..
mark thorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:30 AM   #15
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

Yeah, its definietly dead. If Game got it to work, I have no idea how they did so.

I got an e-mail back with a UPS sheet and a receipt.

Do I now wait for the package to wrap the console in, print that off, and then send it?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:36 AM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
Ahyoka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,373
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

Thats similar to what I did...cept' I called and they sent me a box with a bag and some foam cushions to keep it from sliding around in the box as well as a UPS label. The box came with a set of instructions
Ahyoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:38 AM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

Oh you got it already? I was going to suggest something until you got the box. Look up "towel trick" on youtube.
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:01 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

No, I haven't got the box, but I got the UPS label and receipt through e-mail to print.
I never thought I'd end up having to do this. I mean, its not like I abused it or anything
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 01:43 PM   #19
Daemon Poster
 
Ahyoka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,373
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

Don't worry Kage, exact same thing happened to me...twice. It's just a hardware problem, nothing you did
Ahyoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 05:09 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: 3 red lights of doom :(

Another XBOX failure? Wow.

Ah well... at least what I said in the MSN conversation was right.
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0