Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2009, 11:54 AM   #11
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
Too bad most digital cameras can't support that kind of capacity.
Yet!
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:44 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

guys, stop saying its only for phones because its not

this camera shoots on SD cards and it would really benefit from higher capacity cards

http://gizmodo.com/357336/panasonic-...shoots-on-sdhc
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 05:42 PM   #13
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

You'd need other batterys though, so why not carry other memory cards?
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 05:46 PM   #14
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

That is insane! would you ever need that much?
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 06:55 PM   #15
Daemon Poster
 
allendale2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 781
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

I crapped my pants when I saw that
__________________
OCZ 550 Watt Modular|Intel E7300 Core 2 Duo @ 2.66ghz|Gigabyte EP45UD3R|4 GB Corsair 800 DDR2|Geforce 8800 GTX|Seagate 250GB 7200RPM SATA|Samsung 160GB 7200RPM SATA|120 GB External WD Passport HD|Microsoft 3 Button Optical Mouse|Lite-On 2 Tone Standard Keyboard|ViewSonic 22in Wide Screen|Logitec x-540|Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
allendale2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:08 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
rohan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

As phones and pieces of technology that use SD cards, begin using HD as a standard, it will be needed. Sure, right now only some high definition cameras will really need all of the space. But what about when someone releases a phone that can support 720p pictures and videos? It's not too far off.
__________________
Macook 13.3

2.13Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo-2GB DDR2 800 Mhz-500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue- Nvidia 9400M
rohan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:12 PM   #17
Daemon Poster
 
allendale2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 781
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

If you are seriously "serious" about taking pictures, I doubt you would do it on your phone. Rohan is right that some cameras would need 2tb for taking thousands of 4 gigapixel pictures, but that memory for a phone seems superfluous.

THERE ARE CHILDREN IN AFRICA BARELY ABLE TO GET THEIR HANDS ON A GIG AND YOUR OVER HERE FLAUNTING YOUR 2000k PHONE. YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED.
__________________
OCZ 550 Watt Modular|Intel E7300 Core 2 Duo @ 2.66ghz|Gigabyte EP45UD3R|4 GB Corsair 800 DDR2|Geforce 8800 GTX|Seagate 250GB 7200RPM SATA|Samsung 160GB 7200RPM SATA|120 GB External WD Passport HD|Microsoft 3 Button Optical Mouse|Lite-On 2 Tone Standard Keyboard|ViewSonic 22in Wide Screen|Logitec x-540|Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
allendale2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 10:10 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by allendale2008 View Post
If you are seriously "serious" about taking pictures, I doubt you would do it on your phone. Rohan is right that some cameras would need 2tb for taking thousands of 4 gigapixel pictures, but that memory for a phone seems superfluous.

THERE ARE CHILDREN IN AFRICA BARELY ABLE TO GET THEIR HANDS ON A GIG AND YOUR OVER HERE FLAUNTING YOUR 2000k PHONE. YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED.
Umm... SD cards fit in cameras too, you know.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 10:38 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

thats like 300,000 songs. I don't even know of enough bands to fill that with enough music. Good god.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:22 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: 2TB SD Cards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan23 View Post
As phones and pieces of technology that use SD cards, begin using HD as a standard, it will be needed. Sure, right now only some high definition cameras will really need all of the space. But what about when someone releases a phone that can support 720p pictures and videos? It's not too far off.
720p? thats 1280x720 and most phones go wayyyy over that already.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0