Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2004, 03:59 AM   #11
Baseband Member
 
Cheerios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 79
Default Re: 1280 by 1024 Screen Resolution!

Is having a higher resolution better?
__________________

Cheerios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 01:34 PM   #12
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default

It depends; not on a smaller monitor (I wouldn't recommend 1280 by 1024 on anything less than 19inches) but it is devilish on the eyes if you're not used to Computers and even if you are then its hard. You do have to get used to the size of font and text and everything basically.

However, I can get a Desktop Wallpaper on a 1024 by 800 with loads of space on my desktop! I can view things I couldn't view on 1024 without looking across and thats important for me because I downloaded a Longhorn Sidebar not so long ago and on 1024 it makes it a bit annoying. On 1280 you can view an A4 Sheet at 100% with loads of space either side with 5 toolbars on the side and a sidebar outside of Word. It is very good. Always worth a look if you have a big enough monitor.
__________________

__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 12:26 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
GeforcebOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: 1280 by 1024 Screen Resolution!

Sorry to kinda go off the subject but does anyone know if you can get 1280x 1024 on 15" flat panels moniters . Cheers .
__________________
AMD FX57 - 2Gb DDR - 200Gb HDD - 512Mb X1800 XTPE - DVD Dual Layer - Creative XFi Fatality FPS - Windows Media Center 2005
3D Mark 05 : 9600
3D Mark 06 : 3800
GeforcebOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 02:01 PM   #14
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default

I doubt it seriously. If you try it then it wqon't do anything damaging. It will just say it can't register it. Give it ago but even if it would work your eyes would explode after too long with it!
__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 02:28 AM   #15
Daemon Poster
 
GeforcebOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: 1280 by 1024 Screen Resolution!

The moniter just turns off if you do that.
__________________
AMD FX57 - 2Gb DDR - 200Gb HDD - 512Mb X1800 XTPE - DVD Dual Layer - Creative XFi Fatality FPS - Windows Media Center 2005
3D Mark 05 : 9600
3D Mark 06 : 3800
GeforcebOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 05:51 PM   #16
Guru
 
Lord Kalthorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Britain
Posts: 13,293
Send a message via MSN to Lord Kalthorn
Default

Yeah, mine did that too.
__________________
A Knight is sworn to Honour. His heart knows only Virtue. His blade defends the helpless. His might upholds the Weak. His word speaks only truth. His wrath undoes the Wicked.
Lord Kalthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 12:28 PM   #17
Daemon Poster
 
GeforcebOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: 1280 by 1024 Screen Resolution!

Its sucks why can't moniter all go up to the same res.
__________________
AMD FX57 - 2Gb DDR - 200Gb HDD - 512Mb X1800 XTPE - DVD Dual Layer - Creative XFi Fatality FPS - Windows Media Center 2005
3D Mark 05 : 9600
3D Mark 06 : 3800
GeforcebOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 08:55 AM   #18
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: 1280 by 1024 Screen Resolution!

u cannot display such a large resolution on a small monitor because it would be near immpossible to read so the manufactures only allow them to go up to a tested resolution. i have a 20" CRT monitor and i use 1200*1024 - to me it looks exactly the same as on my old monitor, which was a 15" monitor on 1024*768 resolution but its just has more space. The greater the resolution the lower the frequency the monitor can display, personally i like to have atleast 85Hz so it doenst strain my eyes. hope that helps
mattakadotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 12:21 PM   #19
In Runtime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 227
Send a message via AIM to Itsme Send a message via MSN to Itsme
Default Re: 1280 by 1024 Screen Resolution!

well...i actually have used 1024x1280 for some time now on my 18.1". I can see everything fine. really clear. and i can see a lot more things. However, my 18.1" brok recently, and i have a 15" spare. To answer someone elses question, yes, you can have 1280x1024 on a 15". Call me crazy (as im sure you all will), but i have been using 1280x1024 on this 15" backup for about 1.5 months, nad its been fine. I also used it a long time back on this res on this 15" before i got my 18.1".

Itsme
yes...i like small resolution
Itsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 09:34 PM   #20
Beta Member
 
RoverDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to RoverDog
Default

1280x1024? thats huuuge!!

i use 1600x1200, on a 19" CRT monitor, plenty read-able!
I did run it at 2048x1400 for a while, and still would but it has 'lost' the ability to do this as driver upgrades came along..

btw, hello everyone!
__________________

RoverDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0