Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2008, 04:12 AM   #1
In Runtime
 
deepthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 142
Thumbs up 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

I just recently purchased a 32" 1080p aquos for use as my bedroom hdtv and computer monitor. I had to order a monster cable hdmi to dvi cable which will arrive either tuesday or wednesday(19.6 footer). Have any of you guys connected your pc's to your hdtv's? Just to think....Sitting, no LAYING in my bed surfin the web. Doesn't get any bettter than that!!! I also use this HDTV for my 360 which looks absolutely incredible, especially HDDVD's!

Tell me about your setups if you have done this.
__________________

deepthroat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 06:00 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

ive used my computer in my 50'' pioneer . that was great . but because its a plasma i didnt use it for long or the start menu would be burnt into my tv for evaa
__________________

__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 08:34 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

you got ripped off by buying a monster cable.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:02 AM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
Steemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Steemax Send a message via MSN to Steemax Send a message via Yahoo to Steemax
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

My setup is 1080p 26" LCD connected to my comp with a monster cable DVI to HDMI cable.
__________________
| Intel Core i7 4770K | Nvidia GTX 770OC | Samsung EVO 500GB SSD | Carbide 400R | Corsair Vengeance 16gb DDR3 | Corsair 750TXV2 PSU | Corsair Hydro 100i | Gigabyte Z87 Mobo |
Steemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:09 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

Borats got a very good point. There are some DVI-HDMI cables out there that are cheaper and the same quality, if not better, than the Monster cable. Just keep that in mind, Monsters are good, but a lil overpriced.

BTW, Your idea would work out pretty good considering you have the GPU that can handle the resolutions. I have seen it done before, it looks amazing.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:10 AM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
Steemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Steemax Send a message via MSN to Steemax Send a message via Yahoo to Steemax
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
Borats got a very good point. There are some DVI-HDMI cables out there that are cheaper and the same quality, if not better, than the Monster cable. Just keep that in mind, Monsters are good, but a lil overpriced.

BTW, Your idea would work out pretty good considering you have the GPU that can handle the resolutions. I have seen it done before, it looks amazing.
Only reason I have a monster cable is because my dad had purchused it for the main tv but we don't use it anymore so i snatched it lol.
__________________
| Intel Core i7 4770K | Nvidia GTX 770OC | Samsung EVO 500GB SSD | Carbide 400R | Corsair Vengeance 16gb DDR3 | Corsair 750TXV2 PSU | Corsair Hydro 100i | Gigabyte Z87 Mobo |
Steemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:53 AM   #7
In Runtime
 
chrisdafrizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 186
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

my buddy plays cod4 for pc on his 32 hd tv and my god it looks great im saving up to get one too!!

just dont get flashed in a game an all white screen blinds the hsit out of u!
__________________
My Rig: [ Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz ] [EVGA-9800GT (512mb) ] [ MSI P43 Neo-F ] [ Corsair XMS2 3GB ] [1.5 TB SATA HD] [Windows 7 Ultimate]
chrisdafrizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 02:44 PM   #8
In Runtime
 
deepthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 142
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev View Post
you got ripped off by buying a monster cable.

Here we go again! Seriously we don't have to go over this every time I mention the name monster. I buy monster cables because monster specializes in making only cables. If all they do is make cables and wiring accessories, they're going to put all they know into those cables. It's science. It has to do with trust, I don't trust other "now you see me, now you don't" brands that are all over the internet. I just can't justify it, If I can afford it, why does it matter to someone else?

Sorry about the rambling, I just don't get it. Sure, a toyota celica will get you where you wanna go, but I prefer a Royce Phantom.LOL
deepthroat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 02:54 PM   #9
In Runtime
 
deepthroat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 142
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

I love COD4. I play it on my 360 in 1080p, it is the best fps I've ever played! I'm actually my 2nd time into prestige mode. I probably won't be playing too many games from my pc since I'm a little outdated I'm afraid. I only have an overclocked 6800GT. Good enough for movies, music internet and some older games, but I'm sure it can't handle the latest and greatest. For games I've turned over to 360 since it's a bit more powerful than my pc.
deepthroat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 03:09 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: 1080p 32" LCD for PC.

Nice

I only have a monitor that goes up to 1680x1050, and thats good enough for me, since to run at 1080p, you have to have serious hardware, and if the TV isn't a CRT, your going to get stretching going for lower res's, though most seem to be capable.

I recently bought a 720p TV for downstairs, and have my PS3 running through it. I can't tell the difference enough to have justified the price, sitting where I would sit playing to get a 1080p TV.

Comes as a plus I guess that to have good graphics in game, you need a lower resolution, and its not like the PS3/360 has a power house graphics card. Its pretty standard in PC's now in a lower budget market, or at least the technology is. So, I don't see us seeing many 1080p games anyway.

For HD films though, yeah
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0