WAMP server won't work outside of LAN!!! Help!

aabmass

Beta member
Hi, I'm pretty new at working with webservers and have set up WAMP on my Windows XP machine. It works perfectly within the LAN (I can access my localhost page from any computer on the network), but I can't get it to work from outside. I'm using freedns.afraid.org and their Dynamic IP update client to forward to my dynamic IP. I figured my ISP is blocking my Port 80, so I switched it to 8080 and set my router to forward to my machine. Now in the LAN i go to "192.168.2.105:8080" (192.168.2.105 is my internal IP) and that loads fine, but still doesn't work from outside. When I ping my freedns.afraid.org domain it resolves to my IP so thats not the problem. The only things I changed in my Apache httpd.conf file was changing the listening port from 80 to 8080 and adding these lines for virtual host:

Code:
NameVirtualHost 192.168.2.105
<VirtualHost 192.168.2.105:8080>
</VirtualHost>

(192.168.2.105 is my internal IP) I haven't really done anything with mySQL or PHP yet, but i know they're configured by WAMP; I just haven't made any databases yet.

Please help me!!! I've tried as much as I know and I'm pretty new to this!

Hello, I am not familiar with WAMP but are you sure you have port 8080 forwarded correctly?

Hello, I am not familiar with WAMP but are you sure you have port 8080 forwarded correctly?

WAMP is an acronym for Windows, Apache, MySQL, PHP, but it is distributed as a software package. And I'm pretty sure I have forwarded Port 8080 correctly. I have a linksys WRT54GS if that's of any help.