Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Server Administration
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 08-27-2009, 03:43 PM   #1
Beta Member

Default Server Help

I am living in a dorm at college, me and my other room mates each have one or two computers each. I have Windows server 2008 installed on my computer and want to set it up so that it stores network usernames/passwords for each of us and set up each computer so it logs in to the server or they can log in locally. I am new to servers and don't know to much. We are on a workgroup, any help would be great. Thanks

Matt18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:43 AM   #2
j03
~~~~~~~~

Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Server Help

You need the computers to be a member of a domain. You'll need to set up active directory for that to work. I'd reccomend you read an Active Directory Guide - Check out http://www.learnthat.com/Software/le...ive-Directory/

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 12:04 PM   #3
Fully Optimized

You'll have to verify that all the computers have XP Pro or Vista business or higher. XP/Vista Home computers can not connect to a domain and therefore this will all be wasted effort.
jmacavali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 06:43 PM   #4
Daemon Poster

Which is why he doesn'tnecessarily need to create a domain. Just place the same local account information from pc's on the server. Then when each user wants to access files stored on the server they can just access the shares created. Domains are nice, but is probably overkill in this situation.
CrossCech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:58 AM   #5
j03
~~~~~~~~

Send a message via MSN to j03

^

True, but it's kinda cheating
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 10:10 PM   #6
In Runtime