MS Network setup help

StuartH1

Beta member
Hi,

Firstly, please forgive me if this is the WRONG forum for this type of question - a swift kick in the *%£$!@ and a pointer as to where I SHOULD ask will send me on my way!! :)

I'm a web developer, but I'm currently attempting to help out a local charity here in the UK with some basic advice on network setup and costs - they are currently in the process of getting further funding, but obviously as a charity they need to keep those costs at a minimal! I have some experience with basic home networks but none with this type of setup. Here's what we spoke about:

Code:
   ------
   SERVER
   ------
    /  \
   /    \
---      ---
PC1      PC2
---      ---
   \    
    \  
 ---------
  General
 Office PC
 ---------
     |
     |
-----------
 Internet

• SERVER: this would run an Access 2003 database application containing stock records (the charity provides low-cost items to those in need) and personal customer/client details. The database would be updated directly on the server PC.
  • PC1/PC2: these would have read-only access to the database - PC1 in the office admin area and PC2 in the shop. PC1 may also require internet access
  • General Office PC: PC for general admin tasks, and for some basic graphics manipulation (adding images of current stock to the database)

Questions (all are cost-oriented! :) :
  1. Is this an acceptable setup?
  2. If so, what type of hardware/software setup should we go for in terms of the server? Are there any specific hardware requirements for a database server, or can we simply use a more-powerful-than-average/average PC (say, 2.4 GHz processor, 256MB of memory, 40 GB Hard Disk, 48 xCD/ CD Rewriter drives, Network card)? Would Win XP Pro be OK or must/should we go for Win2000?