Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Programming
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 06-04-2004, 10:41 AM   #1
Beta Member

Default Teaching C++ in High School

I'm teaching C++ next year to students who have all had one year of either Visual Basic.net or AP Java. It's been 4 years since I got my degree, had lots of C++. I have 2 basic questions:
(1) When I tried entering a program in Visual Studio.net using <iostream.h> I got a message about deprecation. I searched & learned that it is <iostream>. Is this because I was using .net? Is it just new? (2) What IDE would be best for the students. We already have Visual Studio .net in one lab. This year, teaching Java, I had endless free text editors and of course a free compiler. With limited money, what is the best way to go in C++.
Thanks for any help you can give me.

adrienneaadams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:44 PM   #2
Baseband Member

Send a message via Yahoo to ewomack

If money is an issue, then Microsoft is usually not the way to go (in my experience - that company has sucked up a lot of my income). Also, and someone else can probably embellish on this more than I can - VS.NET uses "managed" C++, which means that the C++ libraries and such provide a direct coupling with the .NET libraries. It's possible to program in "non-managed" C++ in VS.NET (and I've even programmed in plain C, but it requires some fooling and indirect ways), but the learning curve may prove inefficient. I have to say that overall I didn't enjoy programming C++ in VS.NET. It may (or may not) be worth a look at the free GNU C++ compiler (http://gcc.gnu.org/), but keep in mind that it is a command line compiler, without cool graphics and drag and drop functionality (though that may have changed). There are also some good cheap and free C++ compilers for LINUX (which may or may not be an option for you).