Simple Batch File Help

Mike_A

Solid State Member
I've just registered and wondered if you fine people could help me out on a simple batch script programme. I've never done any before and I have to write one that uses the below ideas:

Create a new batch file that will use one of the following commands:
1. net name
2. dir c:\
3. echo finished

The programme supplied will prompt the user to select one of the options from the above list. Once the selection is made the programme will run the selected command. This will be repeated until the user selects the “finish” (3rd) option.

Can any of you help me write this programme, I haven't got much time to work on it so any help would be much appreciated. I posted on another forum and their solutions were not working.

Many Thanks

Mike Allen

wow what a can of worms that is...

there are a few methods that you can use...
each get steaditly more compilcated than the last...

the first (easiest), is t ave four batch files...

start.bat
Code:
@echo off
REM this is the choices menu
echo 1, print Net name.
echo 2, Print c:\
echo 3, finish.

1.bat
Code:
REM do function
net name
REM call menu
start.bat

2.bat
Code:
dir c:
start.bat
3.bat
Code:
echo press any key to exit...
pause > null

the second is folowing advice from microsoft

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;EN-US;Q77457&ID=KB;EN-US;Q77457&

you have to write your own key trapping program using assenbally language...

this is easier than it sounds...
go to the comand prompt and change to the windows directory (so it'll be in the system path)...

now type the following exactly...#
[enter] means press the return key...

debug reply.com [enter]
a 100 [enter]
mov ah,08 [enter]
int 21 [return]
cmp al,0 [return]
jnz 010a [return]
int 21[return]
mov ah,4c [return]
int 21 [return]
[return]
rcx [return]
e [return]
n reply.com [return]
w [return]

(at this point the program informs you that the program is written and akes E bytes (14 bytes)