Shutdown when on battery

jc001

Beta member
[FONT=&quot]I am very new to the world of laptops (always been a PC user) so not sure if this is possible but I thought I'd ask.
I have a laptop that runs on AC power for half of the day doing various tasks. If there was a power cut and I am about (within the building for example) I would quickly come and shutdown the laptop without the battery completely being drained running this task. My question is, is there anyway a batch, vbs or a free program that I can use so when I am not about, checks/monitors to see what the power source is and when a power source has changed from AC to battery mode, within 2 minutes being on battery, safely runs a shutdown command (shutdown -s) so that at least it shutdowns correctly and not through a battery been drained and damaging the HDD and the laptop. I am on XP but it's going to be soon replaced by Windows 7. I am new to programming so please bear with me if you do have any batches or vbs?
Many thanks.[/FONT]

All Windows laptops can be configured to provide you with various low-battery warnings. Furthermore, you can configure Windows to automatically hibernate or shut down your laptop when the battery gets way too low. In Windows XP, follow these directions to set various battery warnings:

Open the Control Panel's Power Options icon.
Click the Alarms tab.
Place a check mark by the item Activate Low Battery Alarm When Power Level Reaches.
Use the slider to set the battery percentage level for the Low Battery alarm.
Ten percent seems like a good level.
Click the Alarm Actions button.
Choose what happens when the alarm kicks in.
For example, specify Sound Alarm or Display Message. Add an action, such as Hibernate, Sleep, or Shut Down.
Click OK to close the Alarm Actions dialog box.
Repeat Steps 3 through 7 for the Critical Battery alarm.
Click OK to close the Power Options Properties dialog box.