Learning c++ online.

Status
Not open for further replies.

clacker

BSOD
I'm an absolute novice when it comes to programming and I want to start learning. I want to learn online by reading about it and step by step guides on how to program. I don't mind learning c++ or just c.

Does anyone know any good sites for learning how to program? Also I would like to hear how you guys learnt how to program.

cplusplus.com - The C++ Resources Network is good. Although it is good to learn C++, you may find an easier time learning something like C#, Java or Python. You can build things much more quickly, such as web applications. C++ is a monster, and a very powerful one at that.

Again, I'm not saying don't learn it, I'm just saying that you may have more fun at a higher-level.

Also Microsoft's Visual C++ gives you really nice tools and a good tutorial, as well as the .NET Framework which is superb (IMO).

cplusplus.com - The C++ Resources Network is good. Although it is good to learn C++, you may find an easier time learning something like C#, Java or Python. You can build things much more quickly, such as web applications. C++ is a monster, and a very powerful one at that.

Again, I'm not saying don't learn it, I'm just saying that you may have more fun at a higher-level.

Also Microsoft's Visual C++ gives you really nice tools and a good tutorial, as well as the .NET Framework which is superb (IMO).

Well I'm only 15 I think Java or c# would be better. I don't suppose you have any links for online tutorials on them do you?? Sorry to be a pain :p

Well I'm only 15 I think Java or c# would be better. I don't suppose you have any links for online tutorials on them do you?? Sorry to be a pain :p

well, welcome young programmer-to-be!

I am not a Java developer, although I have developed in it before, but wouldn't be able to

In order of importance:
  1. Google
  2. C# vis MSDN
  3. Stack Overflow - caution, search before you ask and be respectful when you do or you will burn.