I need help

Jyag

Beta member
Hey everyone, I'm a 15 year old sophomore and my junior year when I can pick more classes, I would like to take some computer programming courses and stuff. Problem is I vaguely know what a PC programmer does. I know my way around a pc like any normal person, but I want to take it to the next level. The course description says must handle well around a PC envrioment. I really want to take these classes but I need to know more, so next year I will be prepared. I would love to get ANY form of advice from you guys. If you have any book reccomendations for a beginner please offer them. Any adivce whatsoever I will gladly accept. You don't know how bad I want to take these courses as they will hopefully prepare me for my future job. Please help this PC programming noob!

Edit: The programming program we use at our school is: visual basic.net. Do you guys know anything about that, if you do I could use all your advice.

A Computer Programmer, well, programs. They use a langauage and manipulate it to get the desired results. I can't really explain it better than that.

*waits for root*

*don't wait for me*...

as above, a programmer effectivly just makes programs...

VB.net is really simple to use, and I'm not sure how in depth your class will be,

it's probably the kind of thing that you'll want to play around with more at home that just inthe lab... certainly when I was learning programming I found it very useful to have a copy of the IDE at home so I could make practise programs, and go through lab sessions onece more to make sure I fully grasped them...

Visual Basic is (very very loosly) an Object orientated programming language,
However, it is distinctly different from most object orientated languaes, but that probably doesn't bother you so I'll just explain what I mean...

Visual Basic programs are built around forms.