Freezing While Loop in Java

a_giunta67

Baseband Member
First off, I'm a complete noob at programming. I'm taking a Java class in school and I can't figure out why this loop freezes. The assignment is to make a Craps game using the Objectdraw library.

Code:
import java.io.*;
import objectdraw.*;

public class craps extends WindowController{
	private RandomIntGenerator die = new RandomIntGenerator(1, 6);

int roll1;
	int roll2;
	int userPoint;
	int rollTotal;
	int reRollTotal;
	boolean firstRoll;
	boolean reRoll;

public void begin(){
		setSize(500,500);
		new Text("Click to roll.", 10, 20, canvas);
		roll1 = die.nextValue();
		roll2 = die.nextValue(); 
		rollTotal = (roll1+roll2);
		}

public void onMousePress(){
		firstRoll = true;
		reRoll = false;

if(firstRoll == true){
		canvas.clear();
	new Text("You rolled a " + (rollTotal),10,20,canvas);
	 	if(rollTotal == 7 || rollTotal == 11){
	 		new Text("You win!", 10, 40, canvas);
	 		}

else if(rollTotal == 2 || rollTotal == 3 || rollTotal == 12){
	 			new Text("You've crapped out.", 10, 40, canvas);
	 			firstRoll = false;
	 			reRoll = false; 
	 			}

else{
	 			new Text("You didn't win or crap out.  Your point is " + rollTotal + ". \nRoll again.", 10, 40, canvas);
	 			userPoint = rollTotal;
	 			reRoll = true;
	 			firstRoll = false;
	 			}

while(!firstRoll){
		 		reRollTotal = roll1+roll2;
		 		new Text(reRollTotal, 10, 80, canvas);
		 		}
	 	}

}
}

Well, let's take a look at the body of the while loop and look at exactly what it's doing:

Code:
while(!firstRoll){
    new Text(reRollTotal, 10, 80, canvas);
}