dev c++

AliM

Beta member
hi im new to c++ amd im having some problems.
I have got the dev C++ compiler.
The problem is that i do what the tutorial says in the help menu,

#include <stdin.h>
main()
{
printf("Hello World\n");
}

but when i go and compile it and run it tells me to save which i do what the help says by saving it as 'hello.c' then a box appears then disappears really fast.then nothing happens. but at the bottom when it has all them things like:
compiler,resources and compile log ect. it says that 'stdin.h' is not a directoriy.
i also found out that you can use 'iostream' to go there but it also says there is no such file or directory.

so please can someone help me start off i am so keen nto learn the language i have just finished 'html' and i want to learn this next.
thanks for any help i get marshall :)

Hi, let's go from the top, Ok?

Step 1: Start a new project, name it, select console and make sure it is a C project.

Step 2: Enter the source code as what is shown below exactly.
Code:
[SIZE=3] 
#include <stdio.h> /*Comment: stdin.h doesn't exist as a standard!*/
#include <stdlib.h>

int main(void)
{
     printf("Hello, World!\n");
     system("pause"); /* Comment: You need this to hold the screen open to 
                                 see its output. */
     return(0); /* Required from main under C */
}
[/SIZE]

Step 3: Save everything, preferrably in the same directory together.

Step 4: From the Execute menu select Compile and Run. A dialog box should come up, stuff grinds a bit then the program window (a console) should pop
up and display your message and "Press any key to continue...". When you press a key, it should close.

There are a couple of things that could be wrong if the above doesn't work.