Batch File Help

RichSpencer

Solid State Member
Hi guys, I am a network administrator for a small firm in Canada. I have no experience with batch files. Can anyone write me a batch file that zips files from one drive and copy's them to another. I had one a time before i know it was only two lines of code. Thanks in advance

Richard

RichSpencer said:
Hi guys, I am a network administrator for a small firm in Canada. I have no experience with batch files. Can anyone write me a batch file that zips files from one drive and copy's them to another. I had one a time before i know it was only two lines of code. Thanks in advance

Richard
Two lines! that sounds good. Unfortunately I am not that familiar with batch files so I would say something like use a perl script to copy them to the network drive. I'm sure someone else will be able to help you though.

This will work for copying one file, at a time, it uses the cazip.exe (which is a command line zip utility) that you can grab for free from the computer associates site...

If anyone knows of a command line zip program that can zip an entire directory rather than just one file then you can use the second code chunk, obviously replacing the name of the zip program.

----------------------------------------------------------
@echo off
echo Making temp directory
md c:\atemp
echo copying files to tempdirectory
xcopy a:\[insert filename] c:\atemp\
echo zipping files
e:\cazip -c c:\atemp\[inster filename] c:\[insert filename].zip
echo put new floppy in...
pause
rxcopy c:\atemp.zip a:\
------------------------------------------------------------

@echo off
echo Making temp directory
md c:\atemp
echo copying files to tempdirectory
xcopy a:\*.* c:\atemp\
echo zipping files
e:\cazip -c c:\atemp\*.* c:\atemp.zip
echo put new floppy in...
pause
xcopy c:\atemp.zip a:\
------------------------------------------------------------