Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Programming
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 03-02-2009, 03:22 PM   #1
Solid State Member

Send a message via AIM to jow26ny
Default Basic Comptuer programming

I have never used comptuer programming before and never opened a book up about it. I would love to learn about it and want to start at a basic level and learn things. Please direct me the best route. Im looking to learn.

jow26ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 04:02 PM   #2
In Runtime

Default Re: Basic Comptuer programming

The easiest and the cheapest way to learn a program is to first know what language you want to learn. When you figure that out find a compiler to compile your programs. What I use for c++ is visual studio. VS also can be used for other programs. Then once that is done go to the library and borrow a book if you like the book than you can always go and buy them. Around me the cheapest good programming book runs for about 50 USD. Hope this helps

Hid_Enigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 05:15 PM   #3
Guru

I recommend you look for a Visual Basic book. VB is probably one of the easiest languages to get into programming. You could also take a look at some online tutorials. I second option would be to learn Python.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 12:57 AM   #4
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻

My teacher said its best to not use Visual Basic as the first because its too user friendly. Which is easy to use.
I know its better to start with the easy ones first, but i dont think its best to use one where its like baby feeding you. Might end up getting lost later when trying out other languages.
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote