Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Overclocking | Cooling | Modding
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2017, 03:06 PM   #11
Dystopia now
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

After purchasing three different switching techniques for the monitor input, I finally decided to just shunt it.

Oh well; at least I now have a bunch of spare DIP relays and switches.




This is what happens when you do not fully plan out your project before ordering parts. Learn from my mistake, people.
__________________

foothead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 09:48 AM   #12
Dystopia now
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

I have, by now, made a number of relevant acquisitions.



I must say that, after a day of use, I am quite pleased with the screen quality of this laptop, and I am equally glad that I chose it as the basis for Ghettobook II.
__________________

foothead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 08:46 AM   #13
Dystopia now
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

Well, I seem to have run into an issue: intermittent shutdowns with no OS-detectable error code.

It has occurred in exactly the same manner with two different power supplies, and with two different operating systems on two different SSDs. A preliminary run of Memtest86+ came back clean. This time, I have tried changing the battery. Should this fail as well, this computer will likely be going back.
foothead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 09:19 AM   #14
In Runtime
 
AMD_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Argentina
Posts: 447
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Well, I seem to have run into an issue: intermittent shutdowns with no OS-detectable error code.

It has occurred in exactly the same manner with two different power supplies, and with two different operating systems on two different SSDs. A preliminary run of Memtest86+ came back clean. This time, I have tried changing the battery. Should this fail as well, this computer will likely be going back.
Would it void the warranty if you opened it up to check the board for damage?

Also, have you tried running it on AC only?
__________________
Code:
What is bravery, without a dash of recklessness!
AMD_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 09:34 AM   #15
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 951
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

I would check the memory again: 24 hours+ with memtest, and/or change out the modules. I have seen RAM sticks pass memtest and still be bad, though it is exceedingly rare.
__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 11:58 AM   #16
Dystopia now
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD_man View Post
Would it void the warranty if you opened it up to check the board for damage?

Also, have you tried running it on AC only?
Seeing as there are already screws missing, I could get away with as much tampering as I like.

I have not, nor do I care for such a test. If it will not run with any battery, it is useless to me.


Dngrsone: That is why I used the word preliminary. I have also encountered this.
foothead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 02:56 PM   #17
Dystopia now
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

I have received the PCI express riser and quickly tested it with an old HD 4670.



As I do not want to shut down the T61p, killing its uptime, I tested it with the T61. The results were quite positive.

NVS 140M:



External HD 4670:



As you can see, the average framerate went from two to twelve. Next up will be a test with a HD 5770.
foothead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 04:18 PM   #18
BSOD
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

Why not buy something like this:


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N0DTK5B..._t2_B01MTUI4HO
or build it yourself?
They are a great portable device.
Alpha One Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 05:43 PM   #19
Dystopia now
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

A test with the HD 5770 resulted in a consistent 27fps, after I pegged the fan in Afterburner to prevent core throttling.




The fact that core throttling to 600MHz affected the framerate is proof that I still have yet to saturate the connection, at least in Furmark's 800x600 mode. My suspicion is that it would behave differently in a game involving complex textures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One Seven View Post
Why not buy something like this:


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N0DTK5B..._t2_B01MTUI4HO
or build it yourself?
They are a great portable device.
That is not even close to what I am after. I want a full desktop replacement, complete with multiple monitors and the ability to run games.

Besides, $730.
foothead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 06:58 PM   #20
BSOD
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Ghettobook II preliminary discussion thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
A test with the HD 5770 resulted in a consistent 27fps, after I pegged the fan in Afterburner to prevent core throttling.




The fact that core throttling to 600MHz affected the framerate is proof that I still have yet to saturate the connection, at least in Furmark's 800x600 mode. My suspicion is that it would behave differently in a game involving complex textures.



That is not even close to what I am after. I want a full desktop replacement, complete with multiple monitors and the ability to run games.

Besides, $730.
I use an ASUS gaming ROG laptop that works pretty well as a desktop replacement.
It's fairly large though and not very lightweight.
__________________

Alpha One Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Motherboards | - »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0