Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Networking | DNS
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2012, 10:32 PM   #1
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 2
Default You are subscribed to this thread Compaq Presario Won't Connect to Router

YES this is the same thread as in the Secutiry/Hacking section. I accidentally posted there and have no idea how to necro it on this site. Sorry mods!

I'm attempting to fix a family member's laptop, which has inexplicably lost the ability to connect to our house's internet router. The laptop is a Compaq Presario CQ60 and the router is a standard Netgear router. It's no problem with the OS, I recently upgraded it to Windows 7 and it has no trouble connecting via ethernet. When I attempt to connect wirelessly it registers the router being present and our neighbors' but it simply stays locked in the "Connecting" phase. Windows troubleshooting has never helped me and all it tells me to do is turn it off and back on again anyways. Any ideas?
__________________

Yipyioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:24 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 825
Default Re: You are subscribed to this thread Compaq Presario Won't Connect to Router

Do you have the latest / correct drivers for your wireless card? Have you confirmed that your security password/passphrase is correct? Are you using the correct security setting (WEP, WPA, WPA2 ?). Does your router issue DHCP? If so, is your wireless card set to obtain IP automatically, or does it have a static IP configured? If it does have a static IP configured, I'd be willing to bet it's not within the router's IP range/subnet.

If the above has been confirmed, I'd then check to see if the router has settings in it where maybe it's been configured for MAC Filtering (where the router only allows machines with specific MAC addresses) or if DHCP only issues a limited amount of IP addresses (5 instead of 100 addresses).

Good luck.
__________________

CrossCech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:24 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
joedaman633's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: You are subscribed to this thread Compaq Presario Won't Connect to Router

I've had multiple problems with these type of laptops, the CQ70 has this issue a lot too.

It was solved with a complete OS re-install.
joedaman633 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:06 AM   #4
Beta Member
 
IPexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Default Re: You are subscribed to this thread Compaq Presario Won't Connect to Router

It is maybe a problem when you installed the OS unfortunately. Can you ping any other devices on the network such as the Default Gateway or any of the neighbours you mentioned?
IPexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0