Workgroup help

copiman

In Runtime
First of all I am a student in networking and computers. I am aware of homegroup and how it works. I am trying to explore the workgroup feature. My understanding is that with workgroup you can control who has access and also control exactly what files they have access to. I have attempted to set this up on 3 PCs (Vista, 7, and 8.1). Apparently I am missing something and need help.

I have done the following:

Network Discovery ON
File and Printer Sharing ON
Public Folder Sharing OFF
Media Streaming OFF
File Sharing Connections use 128bit encryption
Password Protected Sharing ON

Each PC has one user account (admin)
WORKGROUP is named WORKGROUPTEST for all PCs
Network name is the same for all PCs
Network type is Private for Vista/8.1 and Work for 7

Cannot find full instructions so I came here in hopes someone can help me get this going.

Are the admin accounts password protected with the same password on each of the 3 PCs? The workgroup makes it easier for the machines to identify each other as members of a logical group but it is not a security feature. Each PC relies on it's local user accounts to authenticate PCs attempting to connect to shares.

That said, I have seen strange issues with sharing across different versions of Windows even though they are supposed to be compatible.

What issue are you seeing exactly? Is it access denied when accessing a share? A couple things to check are your my SHARE permissions, and also your NTFS permissions. Both must permit the connecting user.

Also, check Credential Manager on each PC, ensure that no incorrect user credentials are stored there. If they are, windows will attempt to use them and give access denied if they're incorrect. Clear them and try again.