Are proxies safe?

SteveD87

Beta member
I've never used them before, so decided to test them out to see what they do. I use a Mac, and inputted the web and secure web proxies from hidemyass.com into my network preferences. I loaded up Chrome and Safari and asked Google what my IP was. Sure enough, it was the IP of the proxy. I tried a few from different countries. The ones with low anonymity were faster it seems, higher seems slower. Tried ones from USA, Russia, Indonesia etc. Couple didn't work. Indonesia one caused Google to say my IP - or the Indonesia IP was causing too much traffic so had to enter a captcha to bypass it. Once I'd done that, it was terribly slow, so gave up with them.

Anyway, are they safe? I haven't logged into anything - didn't even check my email etc. Just loaded up Google and Outlook.com to see if it worked and that was it.

Are proxies safe, or could my computer/logins be compromised?

Put simply: if you don't control the proxy server, you cannot trust it as much as any device under your control. They also make any 'secure' i.e. SSL/TLS connections you would ordinarily establish less secure by proxying those too. This involves decryption of your data within the proxy and then re-encryption between the proxy and the destination server.

In summary, proxies (by definition) create a network vulnerability by guaranteeing all your traffic flows through a single intermediary - something which is not guaranteed with traditional connections once data is on the internet (i.e. dynamic packet routing rather than fixed circuit connections).

All this makes proxies high value targets for exploitation since people rarely use them if they aren't trying to avoid being identified. There are some exceptions such as websites which only serve a particular country or media streaming services, but generally people who need to operate anonymously, thereby risking proxy servers being trusted, are doing so for a reason.