Ping issues while gaming > Solutions needed

iDavy

Solid State Member
Hello everyone,

Note that English is not my native language,

A year ago I started playing League of Legends, but since the start I have issues with my ping. As soon as my sister enters the internet (on her own laptop) she starts browsing YouTube movies & loading huge websites like Tumblr who have a sh*tload of pictures.

This slows my gaming experience and gives me around 500 ping (Which usually is 40).

I've been looking for solutions but wasn't able to find any cost-efficient solutions.

Solutions yet:

- Get an extra internet connection which can give me my personal WiFi spot.
Cost price: € 25/month

- Get an extra MODEM in addition to the one we already have. This modem can set up a new WiFi spot without buying a new internet connection.
Cost price: € 50 once

- Get a new modem which allows special settings such as QoS.
Cost Price: € 100-150

Which one of these solutions will actually work and which obviously won't work ? Are there any other solutions for m problem ?

Thanks in advance,
Davy

Get your own account. I have ATT U-verse with 18 down and 2 up for under 50 dollars a month. The install and equipment fees are rather small surprisingly enough. I got the equipment fee waived because it took them 2 weeks to get out to my apartment.
Having your own connection is the cat's meow.

Solutions yet:

- Get an extra internet connection which can give me my personal WiFi spot.
Cost price: € 25/month

Do you mean subscribe to an ISP again and pay another monthly fee? This will work (my friend did this at his house - his parents wouldn't pay for faster internet so he got a different ISP to come in and setup a new modem and used that to play).

- Get an extra MODEM in addition to the one we already have. This modem can set up a new WiFi spot without buying a new internet connection.
Cost price: € 50 once