Hi, I am a tech noob

nrps

Beta member
Hi, I came here hoping to get some pointers on learning, with the view that I'll have something to then pass on!

Basically, my dad bought me computer in parts when I was 13 (a little over ten years ago) for Christmas, a project you could say. I come from a very mixed family in that my dad and one of my brothers are very tech minded, to the point of being a bit condescending if you don't refer to something in quite the exact words. My sister (unlike her husband who is closer to my brother and dad and always has the newest laptop you saw you the TV ad just last night and iPhone) worked in IT support in Buckingham Palace, but has never cared as much, but is still more aware of things than myself and keeps up to date. My other brother would be between her and me and myself only having cared a little more than my mother who, being a green-fingered agricultural graduate, couldn't give a fig.

The difference is, I do care, I have the savvy to solve problems when I'm using the computer and have helped many people before. A couple years ago, I was bought a RPi for Christmas because I wanted to get back into it, and quickly found myself disenchanted. It's only now that I'm realising I have genuinely no idea how any of it works, or why. Not just the RPi, computers in general in a physical sense. I can get them running and am a fairly skilled user but I want to get to the visceral fat.