Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2007, 07:35 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

It could help, yes.

Remember though, you'll have to be raising the RAM too, since this works in sync with the processor.
Luckily, most BIOS's seem to have an option to automatically set the RAM at a certain speed to the CPU.

Mine for example runs at 1:1:50 to the CPU at default clocks.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 07:59 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Dude, put the voltage back to stock. Raise the Mhz by 5 and run orthos checks every 15.

All those volts you are pumping may cost you your processor. They fry too. Try to get it as high as you can without upping the volts. Then raise them by .025, and be steady with it.
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:07 PM   #13
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 408
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
It could help, yes.

Remember though, you'll have to be raising the RAM too, since this works in sync with the processor.
Luckily, most BIOS's seem to have an option to automatically set the RAM at a certain speed to the CPU.

Mine for example runs at 1:1:50 to the CPU at default clocks.
Alright I was wondering about this too. How do I set my RAM and what should I set it too?
OTSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:17 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

I'm afraid that is where my knowledge with overclocking ends.
Like I said, most will overclock with the CPU without any tinkering
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:20 PM   #15
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 408
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
Dude, put the voltage back to stock. Raise the Mhz by 5 and run orthos checks every 15.

All those volts you are pumping may cost you your processor. They fry too. Try to get it as high as you can without upping the volts. Then raise them by .025, and be steady with it.
what is orthos checks? lol I feel so newbie when I have no clue about something that seems common knowledge to most
OTSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:20 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Orthos is a program that stresses your CPU to check for inconsistencies. You run it for an hour and if it doesn't get an error you can raise farther.

Here is a link: http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm

As for ram, uh, you raise the RAM FSB in the FSB config menu. Depends on the mobo you are using. I highly recommend doing what I told you. Are you monitoring your temps?
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:38 PM   #17
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 408
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
Orthos is a program that stresses your CPU to check for inconsistencies. You run it for an hour and if it doesn't get an error you can raise farther.

Here is a link: http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm

As for ram, uh, you raise the RAM FSB in the FSB config menu. Depends on the mobo you are using. I highly recommend doing what I told you. Are you monitoring your temps?
Yeah they haven't hit higher than 43 degrees C
OTSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:48 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Run Orthos and report back lol. I bet you they will skyrocket after 25 mins.

Just to be sure what are you running it at right now?
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:49 PM   #19
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 408
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Alright it is running at 1.5V and FSB is 245 still don't know how to set RAM

Oh yeah I am also currently running Orthos. Now how do I know when something is wrong when I am running Orthos?
OTSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:53 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Yet another Overclocking advice thread.

Well, see where the big-a** GO signal is? Well, when there is an error it will turn red. Plus it will stop running.

Is your multiplier 15X?
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0