Wireless router

CompNEWB1

Solid State Member
Hey, can anyone help?? as can see i am a computer newb :p , i have recently bought an intel celeron 2.7 ghz 480w barebones system ( i dunno if thats good) I want to be able to run my family computers DSL to my new computer, and i was wondering what type of wireless router i should get, ive heard that linksys were good but id rather ask people that know what there talking about.. any help??

this was the perfect time for a "your mom" joke, but seriously linksys is good and so is d-link. you can't go wrong with either of them, but don't get anything else. also make sure the card you buy is either linksys or d-link. they just make great wireless stuff. Also, to save money, get a 802.11b router and card instead of 802.11g. i have really not noticed a difference and its certainly not worth the extra $100+

For the internet, 802.11b is all you need. The internet runs at less than 10mbps and 802.11b is 11mbps ;P G is 52. Unless you plan to do a lot over your network(games, transfer large files, etc) B is all you need...

I have a Wireless Accesspoint(just wireless features minus all the router features) and a card fro my PDA from d-link. The Access Point is working fine, but the card for my PDA has been giving me problems. My dad also got a card for his laptop that was D-Link, and it never worked... He has a Netgear now that has worked fine, but the stregth of it isn't close to that of my D-Link...

i have a d-link router and i can honestly say it sucks. every week or so it refuses me access to the internet. i have to go through a right rigmarole to get it back working. i had a technician come out to look at it, but he could not solve the problem. i rang d-link who gave no useful advice. when its running its fine, but the random shutdowns drive me mad.
woz