windows XP

FuRgy

BSOD
Hello,
I have a windows XP pro CD and want to install Windows XP on my computer. I am currently running Windows ME. If i was to just install Windows XP would i just put CD in and run setup? Would I lose any of my data, or my programs or will everything still be there once i have upgraded.

You will upgrade and normally not lose data-though you might lose drivers for some of your hardware.

You can also create a new partician and install xp pro along with your me and have two systems.

You will really be better off if you can do a "clean install" which means you will wipe everything off of your hard drive and completely start over with fresh version of Windows. You will have to find some way to back up your important files (external hard drive is my preference) before you format it.

The few times I have just tried to upgrade, I have had a lot of glitches down the road.

Hello,
Thanks for your replies Gary and Techserv. Techserv, i am very very new to reformatting/re-installing and how would I back up my Data. You see i have not got the original disks that i installed all my programs from ie.Norton Antivirus, Power DVD, Adaptec Easy CD Creator and adope. However I do have some CD's. My Internet CD and my games and printer CD's and stuff. I do not have a spare hardrive. Is there a way of backing up all these programs onto CD-R's?
Thanks.

As far as I know, the only way you will be able to reinstall your programs is from the installation discs. The only files you will really be able to "back-up" are files you have created (pictures, Office documents, etc.) If you don't have all of the discs you need, then formatting the hard drive may not be an option for you.

As far as everything else, yes you can use CD-R's if you don't have a lot of things you need to back up.