What is wrong with my video card?

SimpsonKnight

Solid State Member
So today my brand new Radeon 6850 video card came in the mail and what ensued was a days worth of confusion, anger, and frustration. First of all it wouldn't fit. I then took out some weird antennae thing and there was barely enough room for it. Next it wouldn't turn on. I attributed this to the PSU which was a 300 W one. I bought a new, 500 W PSU and managed to successfully hook it up, which took forever since I have zero experience with such things. The video card still wouldnt work.

I thought that maybe I didnt connect the motherboard to the PSU correctly but whenever I removed the video card the computer worked fine, using its on board video capabilities. At this point I realized that in the installation manual it said to make sure that any sort of on board cards are unistalled before installing the new one. I did this and tried again but it still refused to work.

One thing I should mention is that when I had it connected to the old 300 W PSU, the card's fan didnt work at all but when I connected it to the 500 W PSU the fan did work at one point, even though there was no picture, but then it stopped working all together.

So ya, thats my predicament. At this point both my Radeon and my on-board cards dont work and I am left withh an atrocious, low definition picture. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Do you have the latest drivers for the graphics card? what are your specs for you computer like ram, cpu, etc.? Is it overclocked? I hate to say this but another problem that could occur for you is your power supply going out. I was running a phenom II 1090t with 8gb ram and a radeon hd 6790 and my 500w power supply blew.