what are sata raid for?

reodan92

Baseband Member
im kinda new to pc parts and what not and i was wondering what sata raid is for and what are hard drive slaves (or something like that).

Update: Ok problem solve but now i have a new qeustion what is PATA for?

SATA is the next generation of the Parallel ATA (the drives that uses the big, fat, flat ribbon like cable) physical storage interface. Serial ATA is a serial link that creates a point-to-point connection between devices. Transfer rates for Serial ATA begin at 150 MBps and SATA II 300MBps. It's newer and should be the standard on all new PCs. There are no Master/Slave configuration for SATA hard drives.

RAID is a collection of hard drives that offers increased performance and fault tolerance. There are different level of RAID and works in conjunction with SATA. RAID 0 is mainly for performance (where data are transferred onto two separate hard drives for increase access times) while the other RAID levels are redundancy + performance.

I don't know a whole much about RAID arrays but I'm pretty sure it allows you to use two hardrives almost as if it were one. For example, if you were in Windows Explorer it would recognize one hard drive at 500GB instead of two different hard drives at 250GB a piece.

RAID 0 can be a bit decieving. It is true that two hard drives act as one. But if you have for example, two hard drives both at 250GB each. You would think they total 500GB. But that's not the case in this Raid level. It's still 250GB. What a waste of hard drive space, lol for such little performance gain. I don't feel the performance justify the cost. Better to partition :p