What do people think of this system?

Wiredchild

In Runtime
Firstly, i promise this will be my last post on this, i've started a million threads asking question after question about this but i think i've finally come to a conclusion.

The system isn't going to be used for gaming, just media use, so i'm simply intending to use the on-board graphics. I chose a Samsung Spinpoint hard drive as they're supposed to be very quiet, which is also something i'm going for. I'm just a little concerned about the CPU and RAM, i'm not very good with these componants and don't really know what i'm going for so i'd appreciate some comments about my choices (i'm also a little concerned that neither appear on Abit's tested CPU's and RAM for this board).

Anyway, here's what i think i'm going to go for:

Motherboard: Abit AN-M2
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.20GHz
RAM: GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC6400C4 800MHz DDR2
HDD: Samsung SpinPoint P SP1654N 160GB ATA-133 8MB
Case: Lian-Li PC-V300

I'm buying from overclockers.co.uk by the way, if anyone had any alterations it would be good if they stocked them there.

So, what do people think?

cpu is good. you could probably get away with a lesser one though. ram is fine as well GeIL is a good brand 1gb will be fine for a media pc. overall its a good pc.

Thanks again for the reply.

I was considering a 3800+ but due to the price difference (£7) it seemed stupid not to go for a 4200+. As i say however, i'm not good at choosing RAM and CPUs and tend to just guess it. What do you mean Rudster816 when you say I 'could probably get away with a lesser one', technically i mean? Surely it's best just to get as high as you can afford?

Also, do you think it matters that neither the RAM nor the CPU are on Abit's tested hardware for this board?

Also, Biostar produce basically the same board spec for spec and i've got no idea to go for Biostar or Abit, any comments on that?