USB ports all stopped working

lemmy

Beta member
Hi everyone, I ahve a big problem at the moment

you guessed it I am a newbie

brief histroy:

had an sony mp3 player attached to usb port in the front of the PC had wireless connection through netgear running, clicked on a link to go to another page and the 'cannot find page' message came up... tried a couple of time and nothing happened.

A this point I noticed that the two icons hat showed that the wireless connection was working had dissapeared and i had in fact no internet connection.

thought this was odd... tried to reboot still not working.

called net gear support... they said plug the wg111t adapter into another usb port and see what happens i did and nothing happened... no 'windows has found new hardware' or anything... tried all four ports and nothing... tried the adapter in the laptop ( which i am using now ) and it all worked.

so now

tried to uninstall all USB item from device manager and reboot, the PC found new hardware on start up for the host controllers and the USB ROOTs but still they dont actually work... I plug my printer into the usb port and something that was working yesterday now comes up with 'hardware not recognised.

the hardware service support line is closed till monday now and you are my only hope in getting this sorted before spending money caling premium rate number...

any replies warmly welcomed

thanks

matt

yes sp2

is this something that ahs happenend before ... a know n problem?... is it easy to fix? ( oh please say it is)

THANKS FOR THE QUICK REPLY ASWELL

thanks

thats what I thought...

so I went into my computer 'right click' down to poperties
into hardware tab
device manager

expand the USB controllers 'tab'

I ahve 8 sections now
1 sayS intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB 2.0 Enhanced Host controler - 24CD
3 say intel(R) 82801DB/DBM universal Host C¬ontroller - 24C2 OR 24C4/24C7

Then Have four USB Root Hub