Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 04-12-2013, 03:07 PM   #1
Baseband Member

Default Upgrading Mobo and CPU

Hello guys I have a question about some hardware upgrades/changes. I currently have an AMD CPU and this Motherboard I also have a GTX 660 Ti card and one of my friends said I should get an Intel CPU/Mobo. I'm a stranger to Intel products but he insisted they'll perform better with the graphic or something like that.

So if I choose to do this:
Can anyone help push me into the right direction for getting a good Mobo and CPU?
also will there be any contraindications if I go through with this?

If you guys have any questions about anything go ahead and ask, and i'll try to answer.

Again thanks!

Thomas92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:12 PM   #2
Fully Optimized

Default Re: Upgrading Mobo and CPU

While I'm not a hardware expert and can't offer any advice, the first thing we'll (they'll) need to know is your budget.

jmacavali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:52 PM   #3
Baseband Member

Oh sorry I forgot to mention that, my budget is $300-400 range.
Old 04-12-2013, 04:18 PM   #4
Fully Optimized

I'm going to play a little devil's advocate here.

Thomas92: Are you happy with your system's performance? Does it do what you want it to? Or are you easily swayed by what your friends think you should do?

I only ask because I'm using a Phenom II with that video card and it does just fine with everything I throw at it. Sure, it doesn't have the same processing power as an i5 or i7, but it gets the job done, and fast enough on a 27" monitor that I have no reason to complain.

THAT being said, if you still want to do it, and I'm not holding you back - just presenting both sides of the coin, I would recommend:

Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K - Newegg.com