Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2010, 08:29 PM   #51
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Well I do want to play The Sims 2 better and UT 2004 also. I might need to get a GeForce FX series but just hope that the power supply will work for it. Since I don't think I can get a better one since this power supply seems to be alot smaller than normal sized ones plus the fan sticks out.

Can you give me a list of cards that will work on 150 watts power supply?

Right now I can't really give you a price range so that's why I want to see what will work and that is better than the card I have now.
__________________

Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:31 PM   #52
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

My GeForce MX4 (which was PCI) almost maxed UT'04 and that PSU was 200w.
That was my Gateway300L Slim.

Look, you really just need a new rig.

I don't think a Celeron at 1GHz is going to run UT04 that well, I mean barely run it at all.
__________________

__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:35 PM   #53
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Make a new thread when you have a budget ready. I can guaruntee you that there are better cards than the geforce mx that will work with a 150w power supply.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:37 PM   #54
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Remember foothead, we are dealing with PCI cards here.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:37 PM   #55
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Well all my games run at 16 bit color right now and they run fine. Like UT 2004 plays fine with lower settings with just few lags here and there. Quake 3 Arena play great on Normal settings but kinda laggs on high setting. It seems that this card is made for to set on 16 bit color. But that is normal for 32mb cards since most cards I remember that had 32mb is similar.

But I guess will upgrading the system ram first be better or the video card? Since right now I have 256mb of system ram. As I said it can go upto 512mb total.
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:43 PM   #56
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

The video card would most likely make the most noticeable impact, but adding more ram would be necessary as well.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:44 PM   #57
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Truthfully, I would suggest saving your money and buying a new system. Upgrading the memory to 512MB and adding a PCI video card will help, but in the long run you would be better served with a newer system.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:47 PM   #58
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Isn't that what I've said in at least three posts now? I guess it's hard to drive these things home.

You can buy a new rig for about 400 these days. You could also build one for about 250-300, but I'd suggest getting your lern'd on so you can get a better understanding of how it all comes together.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 09:17 PM   #59
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Well do you remember that I said original I want to keep this machine until the motherboard fails? Until then I will do my best to upgrade it and add more ram etc. Now I noticed that there is a led that I can open where the floppy disk is located but I also noticed something that looks like the face can come off and I would assume thats were you add a new CDROM drive. I should get a DVD player for it since it only has a CD Burner on this machine. Or I can even get a DVD burner so it can burn DVDs. But I don't really burn DVDs at all but I guess I can use that drive for data backup.


Ya looks like I need money big time to upgrade. I think I need to go one by one. Like start with video card, DVD ROM so I can install games that are in DVD format.


This is the lid I am talking about and looks like I can add a new CD drive.


Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 09:20 PM   #60
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

You will get a much better system by doing a new build. Do not sink a lot of money into that old thing.
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0