Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2010, 01:33 PM   #151
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

You know, if you want to sit here and make 10 pages of arguments with us debating with us whether or not we are correct, why don't you just go try whatever you want yourself--or try whatever that good-for-nothing computer guy is trying to convince you to do. If your PSU decides to let go, don't say we didn't tell you.

Buy a new computer and let it be the end of this.
__________________

dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:22 PM   #152
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

This is very interesting but it seems like my eMachines T1100 was a step up from the T1090 model. I notice the only difference is that the T1090 has a 900mhz processor instead of 1 gHz like mine. Also it was around $400 after mail and rebate but you might of been able to get it for less. The one I had was around $500 after mail and rebate but my dad got it around $450 or it might of been less since he gets them in a good deal so that's good. I guess probley the reason my dad didn't get me the T1090 is since I think he wanted me to have a machine that was at least 1gHz since my other older PCs were like 700mHz or less that time. Also I had Windows ME before I had the eMachines T1100 desktop PC.


After a year my moms best friend friend gave me a free Sony PCG-R505ESP laptop since Tom's friend passed away. I know that Toms said this Sony laptop was top of the line at that time and it costed around $4,500 back then. One thing about his friend is that he always buys everything top of the line and also has a ton of money.


So I still have the Sony laptop and the eMachines and I' am taking good care of it.


Come of think of it my dad could of got me the 900mhz since that was cheaper plus my dad didn't have much money but he knew I play games so he got me the 1gHz machine instead of the 900mhz which was the cheapest you can get for a system that had Windows XP.


I noticed that the processor is upgradeable but I wounder what is the best CPU I can replace with with the current 1gHz processor. I wondering if any Pentium 4 can work or maybe a 1.5gHz Celeron processor.
__________________

Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:12 AM   #153
Fully Optimized
 
Holysky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,692
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Those were a bunch of senseless words

Just please listen to what we told you....
__________________
Let's get this party started, I'm sick of begging you You make me dead inside which I give to you
Let's get this party started, You make me feel inside I want to be the one to make myself sane
Holysky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:22 AM   #154
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

^ please listen to the FOURTEEN YEAR OLD. (no Holysky, that was not a put down towards you if you understand the way that I said it. I applaud you).
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 09:23 AM   #155
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Ok guys just because a PC is old doesn't mean it's bad. I can tell you that any PCs today in 8 years later will be old too you know so please do not say old stuff is garbage or something like that. I might of took it wrong from what you guys are trying to say it but it just seemed like that's what you are saying about older computers.
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 10:28 AM   #156
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin_Broke View Post
Ok guys just because a PC is old doesn't mean it's bad. I can tell you that any PCs today in 8 years later will be old too you know so please do not say old stuff is garbage or something like that. I might of took it wrong from what you guys are trying to say it but it just seemed like that's what you are saying about older computers.
Sorry, but that pretty much is what we are trying to say. Your computer was low-end even when it was new. Of course it cannot keep up with newer games, it was not even designed for that. It is designed for things like web browsing, word processing, etc.

Even the lowest-end modern day computers could destroy it. Shoot, an atom PC would be faster.

And I am not saying that being old means the computer is garbage, but you cannot expect them to compare to modern computers.

Think of it this way: if I wanted my atari 800 or a Commodore 64 to run Quake II, I would be pretty crazy. This is in essence, what you are attempting. Sure I can upgrade it, but in the end, I still have an atari 800/commodore 64, and it will still be crap compared to today's computers.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:18 AM   #157
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Sorry, but that pretty much is what we are trying to say. Your computer was low-end even when it was new. Of course it cannot keep up with newer games, it was not even designed for that. It is designed for things like web browsing, word processing, etc.

Even the lowest-end modern day computers could destroy it. Shoot, an atom PC would be faster.

And I am not saying that being old means the computer is garbage, but you cannot expect them to compare to modern computers.

Think of it this way: if I wanted my atari 800 or a Commodore 64 to run Quake II, I would be pretty crazy. This is in essence, what you are attempting. Sure I can upgrade it, but in the end, I still have an atari 800/commodore 64, and it will still be crap compared to today's computers.
Yup. What he said. It's like trying to overhaul a horse and buggy. At the end of the day, you stick have a fackin horse and buggy.
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:31 AM   #158
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Well my dad didn't have much money to get me top of the line desktop PC back then even today. Also I was happy that I had a new computer that time and it was at least 1 gHz of speed compaired to my other used ones I had that were 700mhz or slower. Also right now I' am in a very tight budget so I can't afford even close to $400 to get a new desktop PC. Of cource if I had all the money I needed I would by now upgraded to a more current desktop and laptops PCs. But since I don't have money in fact I been selling alot of my stuff lately since I need some money to upgrade my current desktop PC. Also if my PC still works then that's what it matters. But maybe in the future I can save enough to get a newer used PC or so.
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:33 AM   #159
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

You just answered your own damn question. You said "if my PC still works then that's what it matters" (nice grammar, btw). Which means, USE IT AS IS AND STOP TRYING TO THROW YOUR MONEY DOWN THE DAMN DRAIN. If you are saving up for a new computer, stop trying to find ways to blow it on this piece.
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:11 PM   #160
Daemon Poster
 
PokerDegenerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,465
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin_Broke View Post
Well my dad didn't have much money to get me top of the line desktop PC back then even today. Also I was happy that I had a new computer that time and it was at least 1 gHz of speed compaired to my other used ones I had that were 700mhz or slower. Also right now I' am in a very tight budget so I can't afford even close to $400 to get a new desktop PC. Of cource if I had all the money I needed I would by now upgraded to a more current desktop and laptops PCs. But since I don't have money in fact I been selling alot of my stuff lately since I need some money to upgrade my current desktop PC. Also if my PC still works then that's what it matters. But maybe in the future I can save enough to get a newer used PC or so.
Nobody is trying to say that you are less of a person or anything because you don't have a super fast insane computer or something. We are just trying to help you understand that by upgrading your current computer you are basically wasting your money. If you save the money you are trying to spend on upgrading the one you have and put it towards getting a new computer you will be much better off in the long run. The money you are looking to spend on a Power Supply, graphics card, and CPU, for that thing is probably about half of what it would cost to build a much better computer. If you are not into building a computer believe me you can get a much better computer for about what it would cost to get that thing even close to functional for today's uses. Look for a little more than you plan on spending on upgrades you can get something like this which would be huge improvement over your current computer. MUCH BETTER THAN UPGRADING YOURS
__________________

__________________
Raidmax Smilodon Extreme Black Case -|-AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE @ 3829.50 Mhz (18.5 x 207, vcore 1.424, NB 2600 mhz, HT link 2200 mhz) -|- Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V -|- Gigabyte MA790XT-UD4P Mobo -|- G. Skill 6Gb (3 x 2Gb) DDR3 1333 RAM 7-7-7-18-2t -|- WD Caviar 7200 RPM 1 TB HDD -|- OCZ GameXtreme 700W -|- Radeon 4870 1Gb @ 780/1050 -|- Asus VW202NR 20" wide-screen -|- Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit -|- Saitek Cyborg Keyboard -|- Razer Lachesis Mouse
PokerDegenerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0