Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2010, 11:19 PM   #141
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

So basicly even if I put a low end GeForce 2 MX series or ATI Radeon 7000 that has only 32mb will it forsure blow the power supply no matter what?
__________________

Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 11:22 PM   #142
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

That thing barely has enough power for the motherboard + cpu.

Any card out there will be too much for it.

I think it is time for a new computer. The only decent mATX psu I could find is the ultra x4 400w, which costs $40. That plus the video card will cost way more than your system is worth.
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 11:29 PM   #143
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Well there was the ATI Radeon X1300 for $33 with shipping so at least that isn't very very expensive. Also someone posted a 350 watt power supply for around $24. So if I got those two then it will work right?

But what makes me wondering is how can the onboard AGP2X Intel card get enough power from the 48 watts power supply. Since I thought AGP2X would use alot of power more than PCI since it's better. But maybe since the GPU is basic type even with AGP2X bus speed it doesn't use much power.


Also about buying new PC is not possible since I have no way have enough to get that much money. Maybe it's the best idea but I want to save most money and I want to keep this machine also since there is nothin wrong with it. I mean it works good as new and also the tower is in good shape.
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 11:39 PM   #144
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

The psu that was posted was a logisys. They are the worst PSUs you can buy. Expect it to last 6 months at the most. I went through about 15 pages of mATX PSUs and the only decent one was the ultra x4, which is also modular btw.

Your IGP is incredibly basic, and uses almost no power. Interface makes no difference with how much power it uses, it is still the same thing.

You could always swap out your pc slowly. I could put together a new platform for about $100 that would destroy what you currently have. You would still need the psu though, 48w isn't gonna power anything.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 11:43 PM   #145
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Ultra LS350. You can only find it on TD, though. NewEgg does not sell Ultra's PSU's if I remember correctly.

Ultra LS350 at TigerDirect.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 11:50 PM   #146
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantofhell View Post
Ultra LS350. You can only find it on TD, though. NewEgg does not sell Ultra's PSU's if I remember correctly.

Ultra LS350 at TigerDirect.
Not mATX. It would not fit his case.

Here is a better option.

http://www.provantage.com/cooler-mas...1~7COOL071.htm

new case and decent psu.

I seriously recommend that you upgrade to a new platform though.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186173
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103698

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148240

onboard video will be okay for the time being. When you are ready to upgrade that, get a HD 4650/4670.

This will work out so much better in the long run.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:27 AM   #147
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Well come to think of it I really find it hard to beleive that even a very low end card like ATI Radeon 7000 or GeForce 2 Series would not work since I remember that eMachines said that I can upgrade my video card by adding a PCI type card but that was years agao so that time ATI Radeon 7000 or something around that was good or normal so it should work though. I mean I don't have to add the best of the best if my system won't work on it plus as I said I' am in a limited budget. I can only save little by little on updating my current tower.


But of cource if there was a power supply that would fit my system and that would make it so I can have a better card then that is great but if there isn't than I will just use a lower end card that is still better than my onboard one like the GeForce 2 or ATI Radeon 7000 somewhere around those.
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:30 AM   #148
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

It will not work. A GPU alone will use 48w.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:52 AM   #149
In Runtime
 
Dustin_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Yahoo to Dustin_Broke Send a message via Skype™ to Dustin_Broke
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Well I did talk to one tech guy localy and they said that it should be around 110 or 120 watts for my power supply so they didn't say anything about 48 watts. But are you sure that it's only 48 watts? Eather way I think I should search around for a power supply that is better than mine and that will fit. Also one I can afford.

As long as it's a micro ATX power supply it will work right?
Dustin_Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:59 AM   #150
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Upgrades for eMachines T1100

Any micro atx psu should work. Be sure it is a quality psu though.
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0