Thinking About Building A Laptop 17" Too Impractical?

j_v_z

Baseband Member
Hey all, thinking of building a laptop, well, more like buying a barebones system and installing my own cpu, memory and harddrive. I always thought i would like to have a 17" screen on a laptop but i have heard some people say the 17" is too large. what is the general concensus? do you think a 17" is too large and impractical to cary with you on a regular basis? im a student and would be taking it with me to and from school and traveling on the road occasionally with it. Also, im looking to spend around $1000 total, give or take a little, what processor would you guys reccommend? i will probably be piecing it together from pricewatch.com

naw, i can save money by not buying the OS, and get exactly what i want, also i have a q6600 in my desktop, i need somthing that will be compareable in a laptop

ok well my laptop is 15.4" wide and for a lappy i think that is big enough

i would only every buy a 17" one if i was using it as a desktop replacement and it was just to be used in my house , i wouldn't buy a 17" one to take to school with me everyday cos that is pretty big to be carrying with you at all times

and why do you need comparable laptop specs ? before this one my laptop was loads slower than my desktop but i didnt mind cos i just used my laptop for internet
and its near impossible to build your own laptop the only way to get a laptop you want is by configuring using something like dell

i dont know, i never buy 5400rmp hd's which it seems like a lot of the laptops come with. also, i want min 2gig ram, and a $200+/- processor

15.4" is practical
17" is not

you just need to decide where the laptop will be used and for what lengths of time. im considering a 17" one for uni as i want a powerful desktop replacement.

j_v_z;8****4 said:
i dont know, i never buy 5400rmp hd's which it seems like a lot of the laptops come with. also, i want min 2gig ram, and a $200+/- processor