So, I'm a computing student who as no idea how to build a computer.....

HellfireGam3s

Solid State Member
although i know the parts required! after a few Google searches, i found some cheap and somewhat affordable parts, but i don't know if they are compatible with each other (i'm assuming that not all parts work with each other here) so here is a list of the stuff i found:

OEM - AMD Sempron X2 Dual-Core (190) 2.5GHz Processor 1MB - Components £34.14
Patriot Extreme Performance Enhanced Latency G2 Series 8 GB Memory - DIMM 240-pin - 1333 MHz ( PC3-10666 ) - 1.5 V £23
XFX Radeon HD 5450 Graphics card - 1 GB - DDR3 SDRAM £19
Akasa AK-5004 - Genesis Tower Case £21
Ace 550W / PSU with 12cm Red Fan / Black £12
MSI G41M-P28 - motherboard - micro ATX - LGA775 Socket - G41 - LGA775 Socket £26
3M Executive Computer Filter Black EF200LB Display screen filter 14" - 16" (CRT) / 15" (LCD) £32
*insert random mouse name here* £3-5
Seagate Pipeline HD 500 GB Internal hard drive Serial ATA-300 3.5" ST3500312CS £30
16GB USB £4-6
Samsung SH-222BB - DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM drive - Serial ATA - 48x (CD) / 16x (DVD) 48x (CD) / 22x (DVD±R) / 8x (DVD±R DL) 24x (CD) / 6x (DVD-RW) / 8x (DVD+RW) / 12x (DVD-RAM) - Internal - Black £11
MIN Total: £215.14

if these parts dont work together (if they do i will be amazed) then could you suggest some other parts i could use that would be affordable?

Last edited:
the CPU's socket does not match the motherboard's. the motherboard are running LGA775, it's mostly for the Core 2, centrino, celeron and Pentium 4 series. The motherboard you need got to have a AM2 or AM2+ socket in order to run that CPU.

---------- Post added at 12:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:55 AM ----------

It's a very low end computer you are building. What you are gonna use it for?