Sli?

blewandowski_69

In Runtime
Someone please explain the basics of SLi to me please i know what it is I need a very good overview of everything it can offer, and what the 16x is about. Im a bit new to the Sli thing

Thanks,
Bryan

Imagine putting 2 engines into a car, that's a somewhat simliar analogy to SLI'ing 2 video cards. And the 16x is the bandwidth, I'm pretty sure 16x is the highest out for now

Can u SLi two different interfaces

im getting an intel board that has agp and pci express on it.

yup, all boards have 16x but most, i think like mine split it to 8x per card when u sli two. if u can get a board that doesnt you will have better performance. it is like putting two engines into a car, except that some games it only gives about 60% better performance in. i myself would not go SLI if i could go back. because after your done paying for psu, mobo, gpu(2), and all that so u dont limit the cards you could've gottena cheaper pci-ex board and not had to upgrade everything in there and got a 7800gtx or something which will play all the newest games out fine anyway.

_Niko said:
Can u SLi two different interfaces

im getting an intel board that has agp and pci express on it.

nope, you'd be getting the ULI i think and you cant, only pci-ex with pci-ex. and it has to be the same cards. MSI 6600gt with EVGA 6600gt. u cant mix a 6800gt with an ultra.

so what should i look for on newegg to get a mobo with 2, 16x bandwiths for 2 gpu's will it say

Expansion Slots
PCI Express x16 2
PCI Express x1 2

and does anyone know were i can learn easily how to set up my build, links pictures anything videos would be most helpful.

Thanks,
Bryan

money_man said:
nope, you'd be getting the ULI i think and you cant, only pci-ex with pci-ex. and it has to be the same cards. MSI 6600gt with EVGA 6600gt. u cant mix a 6800gt with an ultra.
what if i had 2 x850s...