Requesting some input ...

Methost

In Runtime
Hello everyone. I'm gathing information for a new machine that I am building. I'm kind of new at this (this is my third build) and would like to know what some other people think. Everywhere I look people post different things about which configuration is better ... which CPUs are good etc etc ... it gets a little confusing ...

I am building a gaming machine. Im not going to overclock it, and I dont care about how many fps I can get in UT at max AF and AA. I play MMORPGs like everquest. I do want a good machine though. I dont want to break the bank.

So far I have my case, PSU and an Asus SLI delux motherboard. Originally I was going to buy a 6800GT 256 and add another later to round out the SLI. I was also going to buy the AMD64 4000+. Well, thats a boat load of cash.

My question is this ... if I skip the 256mb card and buy a pair of 128s right out of the gate ... will I notice a HUGE difference? Is a pair of 128s just as good as a single 256? Better?

And how about my CPU ... can I save money by getting something from 3500 to 3800? Will I notice the loss of 50% of the cache from the 4000+?

I am planning on getting 2gb of RAM from the start ... so that shouldnt be an issue. So knowing I dont want to pay to have a teir 1 machine and Im not going to over clock it ... what would you recomend I do to build a ... say tier 2 machine ??

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Being a AMD newbie I have no advice to give, but one item you don't really need that much is the 2 Gig of RAM. I have 1 Gig and if I start all my applications, multitasking etc. I still have plently of free RAM left.
For the other devices, a CPU with more cache is more efficient, but how many fractional seconds do you gain! and at what price?
I'm sure some AMD expert will be able to give you a solid advice on the difference between a 3500 and a 4000+ CPU