Reformatting 2 laptops

quinton jackson

Beta member
My friend and mom both have problems with their laptops that they want me to fix. Basically, both computers turn on but there's no picture on the screen. I'm thinking I'll just have to reformat them but I've never done it before. I am good at following instructions and I have been able to pick up things with computers over the years but I just never bothered to learn something like this.

My friend's laptop is a Dell XPSM1530. She got a virus on it or something and her boyfriend tried reformatting it on the same day he was leaving the country so he told me to try to fix it. He mentioned something about installing the drivers. When the laptop turns on, there's a boot screen with a loading bar and I can push F2 to start Setup and F12 to load the boot menu. If I don't do either, the screen will just stay blank. When my friend gave me the laptop she mentioned the hard drive possibly being damaged.

My mom's laptop is a Fujitsu Lifebook. It's been really slow for as long as I can remember. I used Spybot to remove adware and stuff about a month ago and things were fine but she just told me that when she turns it on the screen just stays blank.

Any ideas or explanations?

Yeah i have a couple; First on your moms insert a boot disk or os install disk and see if the screen turns on if not then the laptops done, probably the lcd itself or the display adapter,ether way it isnt cost effective trying to repair it.
If it does turn on then follow the directions on the os disk to reinstall windows(or whatever) then it should resolve the problem. For your friends; same thing try reinstalling the os and then go to google and search for the appropriate drivers. If you cant find them you can pm me for driver download sites.

P.S Welcome to ComputerForums.org