Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 06-02-2008, 11:52 AM   #1
Beta Member

Exclamation Ran out of Drive Letters

Hello,

I am new to this forum and registered primarily to see if anybody had a solution to a serious problem I have recently run into. My buisiness computer is for my work (I am a computer consultant) and it is very powerful. It has 8 gb of ram (maually remapped for XP PRO SP2), intel core 4 extreme, and 26 hard disks(mostly western digital velociraptors(10000 RPM, 16mb cache) and seagates). I have about 16 tb of imortant information in my computer. So much info you ask, I have 4 tb of disk images that I use for my clients machines, EX- laptop, desktop, tablet. Everything is specific. The problem is, I have run out of drive letters. Whenever I plug in a new disk, nothing happens. I have everything taken up. Can somebody please help me! Thanks much for everbody's time-

Richard

sonicbro11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:09 PM   #2
In Runtime

Default Re: Ran out of Drive Letters

Holy crap...

I personally would buy a second computer incase something bad happens...I don't know if theres any way to increase the number of drive letters (C1: or different).

DevJargon.com - A place for developers to learn
silent1mezzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:52 PM   #3
Fully Optimized

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicbro11 View Post
Hello,