question on formmatting slave drive.

Foxhound888

Solid State Member
My question is, is it safe to unplug my main hdd while my comp. is off and plug in another one just to get my secondary one cleared? i want to use it as a slave so do i need to install xp on to it or not? After i get it cleared will stuff work fine if i have both of them pluged in at once when i turn my comp on again or will i really screw things up? I know this is probably a really newb question but i'm not good at hdd stuff...

I'm not exactly sure what you're asking... Why do you want to unplug you're main drive to get another one formatted?

Um, well yes, you can swap drives all you want. As long as you do no physical damage to them, they should retain whatever's on them without a problem.

The_Other_One said:
I'm not exactly sure what you're asking... Why do you want to unplug you're main drive to get another one formatted?

Um, well yes, you can swap drives all you want. As long as you do no physical damage to them, they should retain whatever's on them without a problem.
Sorry, i should have been clearer. What i was wondering main is does the drive that i'm trying to make my slave drive need to have windows xp installed on it also or not, because when i tried to boot the drives together and this screen came up and it said somthing about cannot boot or somthing there was also like a bunch of f's in the text "FFFFF-FFFF-FFFFFF" (for example). Im not sure if it was because i've never formatted my old drive before and maybe dell did something to stop me from using it on a different computer or somthing... any ideas or anything would be really helpfull.
Thanks for all the help so far.