Is This PSU Compatible With This Motherboard?

^ True, but if you are going to overclock power consumption goes up exponentially. a 65W Ryzen 5 can pull 125W with a hefty overclock under an artificial testing load.

Also, if at any point in the future he wanted to run say, a single (or a pair) of 1080Ti or the future price point equivalent, and overclock them, you'd have plenty of headroom.

I think the point he made that I agree with is he intends this to be his final PSU purchase for quite a while, so it's probably a worthwhile investment. I've been using the same semi-modular Coolermaster PSU for about 5 years now!

What I would like to point out, that you seem to be ignoring, is that newer components don't necessarily mean more power. On the contrary. If you look at Intel CPUs, they have done nothing but reduce the power consumption and increase the performance.

This is in absolutely no way something I have ignored. I know as technology advances it is expected to reduce power consumption (given the state of the environment anyway) - but what you seem to keep ignoring, repeatedly, is what Darkseeker has said, and I have said numerous times. Who knows what sort of upgrades I'll wish to have? I need a solid 800W I believe as it is, what's such a big deal about have 1000W? All it's doing, as I repeat again, is securing my potential for upgrades and sufficing my current needs. My 10 year old PSU has lasted me just that.. 10 years.. so this £200 PSU, if it lasts me another 10.. is in my eyes a fantastic investment. Omitting the fact it's platinum rated too!