Power Options / Standby

Abington

Beta member
Hi, I'm an ict technician at a high school. The problem I have is I want to stop the machines going into standby. I have logged on as an administrator and set the Power Options to always on, yet for some reason it changed back to entering standby after 3 mins. I then tried setting the PowerCfg in the registry to Always on. This seemed fine for about 2 weeks although they have now stated going into standby mode. Can anyone tell me how I can stop the machies entering standby when there is no one logged onto the machine? We are running Windows XP Service pack 2, and the server runs Windows Server 2003. If you need anymore information please let me know as I'm not the best person at explaining myself! lol!

Cheers for your time and help guys,

Andy

this might be a hard problem to solve... is it a laptop or a desktop? if its a laptop, is it running on battery?

Majority of them are desktops, but we also have 16 laptops. Could it be a setting that is getting wrote into the students profiles, hence when they log onto another machine those settings are getting wrote to that machine? Bit of a long shot but I have tried everything I can think of and am well and truely stumped! Oh and the laptops run off the battery!

i dont know if this will do it, but give it a try. right click on desktop > Properties. on the new window, click screen saver where it says "wait" if it has a time there set it to like 9999 so it will never go off and click on the button called power where it says Power scemes, just select home/office desk and set system standby to never also do that with hypdernation and turn off hard disks. where it says turn of monitor set that to what ever you want to. not sure if it will work, give it a try if you havent.