Please help: graphics problem

dellsucks

Beta member
Hi everyone. I'm having an issue with my graphics. I am a novice when it comes to diagnosing/repairing comp problems, so please bare with me if I left out a key information.
I have a 4 year-old computer running winxp with intel pentium 4 cpu 1.7 GHz, 640 MB of RAM, and 32 MB NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 4x AGP graphics card.
The problem: While using internet explorer, when I scroll up/down the page, the image doesn't move up/down smoothly, but instead the frame rate drops and what I get is a very, very choppy movement. It is as if I am running low on memory, but this is permanent. The picture overall is very blurry and fuzzy. When I play a video file, it also is very choppy with low frame rate. Also, I cannot play games that I used to play (counterstrike, etc).
I recently formatted hard drive and reinstalled windows (but the problem started long before). I downloaded and installed the latest driver for my graphics card, so I don't think the problem is coming from that. However, When I go to the device manager, there is a question mark for Intel(R) 82850/82860 Processor to AGP Controller - 2532, which is listed under System devices. Maybe I have to update the driver for whatever this is, but after an hour-long google search I am still scratching my head. Perhaps someone here at the forums can point me in the right direction.

If this is a custom built machine, your motherboard should have a driver CD. Use it to get the drivers installed for the controller. If not, use the system discs to get the drivers, or, if you don't have them, contact the manufacturer.

Either way, the problem is that the drivers for your AGP controller are missing or corrupted. Your video card is probably just fine. Go to the system and/or motherboard manufacturer's website to find updated drivers or try to find the driver CDs that you should have.