Opinions on build/Compatibility of parts

Stickgore

Baseband Member
Just wondering if anyone can check these parts over and see if they are compatible with each other? Also maybe the readers opinions on the parts picked? This is my first build and it is going to be used for gaming. Thanks.
http://secure.newegg.ca/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=22966467

(Dont mind if any parts out of stock, wont be buying them right now)

Also I was wondering about the hard drive listed on that top link, and this one
Newegg.ca - Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
the cache seems bigger and the speed is the same, but I am confused about where it says "SATA 6.0Gb/s" and the 1TB is only 3, whats the difference? Should I get the 1tb or the 2tb?

If you looking for gaming ditch the Z68 Motherboard, You need P67.

Otherwise all is good, maybe a stronger PSU, because if you ever upgrade you going to have to pay that out again, because you only just covering the watts required.

Smaller HDD are always advised, however i use 2 Tb HDD's and there still running fine, as long as you dont live in a earth quake zone ;) and Cache has no noticeable difference (presuming your putting your OS on your solid state (boot in max 10 secs) Go for 6Gb/s Transfer rate or SATA-III (they are the same but dont be confused as advertised as different) as long as you mobo supports it (which it does).

Last edited:
Builds looking solid.

If you looking for gaming ditch the Z68 Motherboard, You need P67.
Whats wrong with the z68? he's getting a 2600k and maybe he'll wanna use the cpu's gpu sometimes, which u cant with the p67.

If its strictly for gaming i would downgrade the cpu to a 2500k and spend a little extra on a gtx 580. You would get better performance for games