Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 04-22-2010, 10:31 PM   #1
In Runtime

Default Is it okay to open up electronics as long as it is not connected to a power source?

So I am a newb at electronics and stuff, I want to fix them up and stuff like that and I Was wondering if it is safe and okay to open up electronics as long as they aren't connected to a power source, thanks.

TheNerdal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 10:58 PM   #2
Golden Master

Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Is it okay to open up electronics as long as it is not connected to a power sourc

Yeah man.....givver.

All except computer monitors and tv's (I think) because they store power and can shock you even when they aren't plugged in.

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 11:56 PM   #3
Omnicide now.

Default Re: Is it okay to open up electronics as long as it is not connected to a power sourc

No. Anything with large caps or HV transformers and the likes can retain large amounts of voltage for an extreme amount of time. I tried to extract the flyback from an old monitor that had been off for a year, and it still managed to throw a pretty good spark when I discharged it.

If you do not know what you are doing, it is bet to do a lot of research before you attempt to just pop it open. Never assume with this kind of thing.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:01 AM   #4
Solid State Member