Newb needs help...

notcompsavvy

Beta member
Hey, what's up people? I just bought a new system (Sony VGC-RA820G) and I'm able to hook up my tv and pc together so I can watch tv through my monitor. My question is, is it possible (and how would I do this) to do the opposite? Could I watch on my tv whatever I'm doing on my pc? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm not very good with computers as you can tell by my username. ;)

if ur computer has a video card that has a tv in/out then it will just be a cable hookup where ur mobo or video cards is on the back of ur computer, u need to have windows media edition though.

I do have Windows Media Edition and I already have cables hooked up so I can watch and record tv on my pc. What would I have to do to reverse this? Watch my pc on my tv? TIA.

blah blah said:
if ur computer has a video card that has a tv in/out then it will just be a cable hookup where ur mobo or video cards is on the back of ur computer, u need to have windows media edition though.

you DO NOT need windows media edition, i dont know where you heard that blah blah, but i have windows xp, and a Ti4200 video card, it has svideo out which i can put on my tv. ATI also makes the all-in-wonder which has tv out. if its a new motherboard/comp it might even have component out in the back. a few new laptops i know do

Hey, thanks for the help. Here's some specs on my computer:

• Video & Graphics
ATI Radeonâ„¢ X300 LE 128MB Video Memory (128-bit DDR)
TV-Out / VGA-Out / DVI-Out (DVI output: 1280x1024x60Hz max.) 16x PCI Express Giga Pocketâ„¢ MPEG2 Realtime Encoder/Decoder board with TV Tuner
• Port Connections
Seven USB 2.0 (three front/four rear)6
Two PS/2® (Mouse/Keyboard)
One VGA/DVI Monitor Port
One TV-In/Out Port
One S/PDIF Out / One Printer Port
One 6pin i.LINK Port (rear)/ One 4pin (front)
One Headphone / One Microphone / One Line In
S-Video: Two Inputs (front and rear)
Composite Video / Audio Inputs (front and rear)
Coaxial Input (VHF/UHF)