new XFX radeon 6790 - crashing

poobear71

Solid State Member
hey, well i bought a XFX radeon 6790 and from the word go its been crashing. ive had a chat or two with the online XFX people and so far not getting anywhere. im a total tech noob, ill try to explain as best i can.

so ive freshly formatted my pc, have all drivers and windows updates sorted.. vid card drivers are from xfxforce.com

when i surf the net i get a light blue screen, not BSOD with a report of a crash dump or anything, just blue. the blue screen can happen after 2 mins of surfing or after 10 mins BUT it will crash no matter what.

i play a few vid games. world of tanks is fine, WoW is fine and both run quite nicely but wow does sometimes flicker a bit on the log in screenbut goes on to play fine.. other games such as bf2:bad company2 and CS:s crash to desktop when i update my server list.

ive spoken to the xfx guys and they have asked about GPU temps whilst booting cold and warm. idle temps and heavy load temp..... all fine. they want me to use their drivers only. before that i tried the latest drivers from amd and also a hotfix and they give me the symptoms ive already described.. the xfxdrivers are no better... ive used driver sweeper before trying new drivers.

theyve suggested that perhaps my PC is screwed, so have asked me to try the card out on another machine. will do this coming tuesday when a friend's pc is available to me.. though this PC is fine. im now on it with my old card a radeon hd 5570 back in the pc and no crashes at all. im playing tunes, 5 web pages open and have WoW running in the background, on a raid with spells and all sorts going off and the pc handles it fine..

SO! i will check the card out on my friend's pc AND i feel it will give me the blue screens. at that point should i request XFX take the card and do tests or whatever? edit: or probly send to who i bought from ebuyer.com

amd athlon II x4 640
asrock m3a77ode
pc3-10600 x4gigs
xfx pro 650w psu
xfx radeon hd 6790